Research Day

University of Mississippi

Registration closed as of March 22, 2017.

REGISTERED RESEARCH DAY ATTENDEES
Adam Smith aes@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor

Chemical Engineering

Ahmed Al-Ostaz alostaz@olemiss.edu Professor of Civil Engineering
Alex Fratesi mafrates@go.olemiss.edu Undergraduate Student
Alex P. Watson apwatson@olemiss.edu Research and Instruction Librarian

University Libraries

Alexis N. Smith ansmith9@go.olemiss.edu Chemistry
Alissa Wedige akwedige@go.olemiss.edu
Amanda Baker ambaker2@go.olemiss.edu Student, Nutrition
Angela Fasuyi aafasuyi@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Angela Strother astrother@umc.edu Resident, Anesthesiology
Anna Beth Ramsey aeramsey@go.olemiss.edu
Anna-Blair Hunt alhunt1@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Annie Ruckman anruckma@go.olemiss.edu Nutrition
Antigone Ervin anervin1@go.olemiss.edu
Ashlea Walker anwalker@go.olemiss.edu Nutrition
Ashley S. Dees aesorey@olemiss.edu Research & Instruction Librarian

University Libraries

Asok Dasmahapatra asok@olemiss.edu Senior Research Scientist

Center for Natural Product Research

Babu Tekwan btekwani@olemiss.edu Research Scientist
Bolaji Famuyide, MD mfamuyide@umc.edu Associate Professor/Neonatologist

Pediatrics/Newborn Medicine

Brenda Prager bhprager@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor

Chemical Engineering

Bridget Casserly bncasser@go.olemiss.edu Nutrition and Dietetics
Burhanettin Keskin bkeskin@olemiss.edu Associate Professor

Teacher Education

Caroline Canarios cacanari@olemiss.edu Research Associate

Center for Population Studies

Catherine Janasie cjanasie@olemiss.edu Senior Research Counsel
Cecelia Parks cparks@olemiss.edu Research & Instruction Librarian

Library

Cellas Hayes, cahayes3@go.olemiss.edu Undergraduate Student
Chalet Tan chalettan@olemiss.edu Associate Professor
Charles Hussey chclh@olemiss.edu Associate Dean for Research

College of Liberal Arts

Chinelo Ibekwe ceibekwe@go.olemiss.edu Student

Chemical Engineering

Christopher Fox csfox@go.olemiss.edu Grad Assistant

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Cindy Choi echoi2@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor

Nutrition and Hospitality Management

Clifford Holley saholley@olemiss.edu Research and Development Staff

Center for Population Studies

Cynthia Joyce cjoyce@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor

Meek School of Journalism and New Media

Dakota Burton drburton@go.olemiss.edu
David H. Holben dhholben@olemiss.edu Chair and Professor

Nutrition and Hospitality Mgmnt.

David Rock rock@olemiss.edu Dean, School of Education
Dawn Wilkins dwilkins@cs.olemiss.edu Professor and Chair

Computer and Information Science

Dee Hemphill dlhemphi@go.olemiss.edu
Don Stanford dfs@olemiss.edu Assistant Director, RIPS

School of Pharmacy

Dr. Donna Sullivan dsullivan@umc.edu Professor

Medicine/Infectious Diseases

Dylan Ritter djritter@go.olemiss.edu Undergraduate Researcher

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Elizabeth Crush eacrush@go.olemiss.edu Health, Exercise Science, and Recreation Management
Ellen O’Malley emomalle@go.olemiss.edu Nutrition
Ember Gryder elgryder@go.olemiss.edu Nutrition & Dietetics Student
Emily Barron Ecbarron@go.olemiss.edu
Emily Darracott emdarracott@gmail.com Student, Dietetics and Nutrition
Erik Hom erik@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor, Biology
Esteban E. Urena-Benavides eurenab@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor,
Chemical Engineering
Farzi Rahmani frahmani@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Gailen D. Marshall MD PhD gmarshall@umc.edu Vice Chair for Research

Internal Medicine

George William Moll gmoll@umc.edu Prof. Pediatrics & Ped. Endocrinology

Pediatrics

Georgianna Mann grmann@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor

Nutrition and Hospitality Mgmt

Greg Tschumper tschumpr@olemiss.edu Professor and Chair

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Hakan Yasarer hy@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor
Haley Rowell hnrowell@go.olemiss.edu
Haley Ruffin hkruffin@go.olemiss.edu Nutrition and Dietetics
Hashem Almashaqbeh hkalmash@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Hatem Al-Masaied; hhalmasa@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Heather Poole hapoole2@go.olemiss.edu Nutrition and Hospitality Management
Heidi Shoemake hhshoemake@umc.edu Senior IT Program Manager

Division of Information Systems

Hong Zhu hozhu@umc.edu Professor, Otolaryngology
Hunain Alkhateb hsalkhat@go.olemiss.edu Assistant Professor
Hyun-Woo Joung hjoung@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor
James Cizdziel cizdziel@olemiss.edu Associate Professor, Chemistry
James P. Shaffery jshaffery@umc.edu Associate Professor

Psychiatry and Human Behavior

James Rowlett jrowlett@umc.edu
Jandel Crutchfield jmcrutch@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor, Social Work
Jarmarkus Watson jcwatson@go.olemiss.edu Student Intern

Center for Population Studies

Jason Hale jghale@olemiss.edu
Jennifer C. Reneker, PT, PhD, NCS JReneker@umc.edu Associate Professor

Physical Therapy

Jenny Sasser jsasser@umc.edu Assistant Professor, Pharmacology
Jessica Barnett Jebarne1@go.olemoss.edu Undergraduate Research Assistant

Biochemistry

Jessica Posey, jlposey@olemiss.edu R&D Biologist
Jocelyn Tipton jttipton@olemiss.edu Assistant Dean for Public Services

University Libraries

Joel Amidon jcamidon@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor

Teacher Education

John J. Green jjgreen@olemiss.edu Director and Professor

Center for Population Studies and the Department of Sociology and Anthropology

John Rimoldi jrimoldi@olemiss.edu Professor
Josh Gladden jgladden@olemiss.edu
Julia Sherriff JSherriff@UMC.edu
Junie PAULA Warrington jpwarrington@umc.edu Instructor, Physiology & Biophysics
Justise Briggs jmbriggs@go.olemiss.edu
Kacie Poll kpoll@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Katelyn Dreux kmdreux@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Katherine Blackburn kblackbu@go.olemiss.edu Undergraduate Student
Keith Tansey, MD, PhD ktansey@mmrcrehab.org Professor/Senior Scientist/Physician

Neurosurgery, Neurobiology and Anatomical Sciences, Neurotrauma Center, Neuro Institute

Kelsey Reece kreece@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Kenji Maeda kmaeda@umc.edu Graduate Student

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Kerry P. Holmes kholmes@olemiss.edu Professor

Teacher Education

Khalil Qatu kmqatu@go.olemiss.edu PhD Student

Civil Engineering

Kris Belden-Adams Kkbelden@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor of Art History

Dept. of Art & Art History

Kristie Willett kwillett@olemiss.edu Chair Department of BioMolecular Science, School of Pharmacy
Kurt V. Pollack kvpollac@go.olemiss.edu Student, Dietetics and Nutrition
Lance Yarbrough ldyarbro@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor
Latasha Cox lcox2@umc.edu Grants and Contracts Administrator
Latasha McJunkins lrmcjunk@olemiss.edu Project Coordinator

Division of Technology Management

Laura J. Dixon ljdixon@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor

Psychology

Lauren Carden lnallen@go.olemiss.edu Student

Nutrition and Hospitality

Lauren Kingry lekingry@go.olemiss.edu Student, Nutrition and Hospitality Management
Lauren Pohl lepohl1@go.olemiss.edu
Lauren Skorepa lnskorep@go.olemiss.edu
Leslie A. Musshafen lmusshafen@umc.edu Executive Director – Research

University Research

Lois Coleman lmcolema@olemiss.edu Education and Training Specialist

Institute of Child Nutrition

LouAnn Woodward Vice Chancellor
Luc Rebillout luc@ncche.olemiss.edu Graduate Student

NCCHE

Lutina Cochran lcochran@Olemiss.edu Education and Training Specialist

Institute of Child Nutrition

Lyndsey Acree lbacree@go.olemiss.edu Student

Dietetics and Nutrition

Lynn C. Woo lcwoo@olemiss.edu Research Associate

Center for Population Studies

Macon Palmer mmpalme1@go.olemiss.edu
Madhankumar Sathyamoorthy msathyamoorthy@umc.edu Assistant Professor

Anesthesiology

Madison Clarke msclarke@go.olemiss.edu Undergraduate Student
Marcus McGrath mzmcgrat@ncche.olemis.edu Research Associate

National Center for Computational Hydroscience and Engineering

Marta Dees martadees@gmail.com Dietetics
Mary Roseman mroseman@olemiss.edu Associate Professor

Nutrition and Hospitality Management

Masoumeh Karimi m.karimi1751@gmail.com Research volunteer

Department of Pediatrics, Division of Hematology/Oncology

Matt Kutcher mkutcher@umc.edu Assistant Professor of Surgery

Department of Surgery

MD MAHFUZUL HAQUE mhaque@go.olemiss.edu Student, Meek School of Journalism and New Media
Megan Marie Eubanks mmeubank@go.olemiss.edu
Melinda Valliant valliant@olemiss.edu Associate Professor
Melissa Dennis mdennis@olemiss.edu Faculty
Michael Clear mclear@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student, Biology
Michelle Weber mweber1@go.olemiss.edu Nutrition and Hospitality Management
Michelle Weber mweber1@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Mickey McLaurin mclaurin@olemiss.edu Research Administration Advisor,
Pre-Award, ORSP
Mina Mahdavi mmahdavi@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Mitchell Myer mmyer88@yahoo.com
Mohamed Jihan mejihan@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Molly Berra mcberra@go.olemiss.edu NHM
Montana Bryan mgbryan@go.olemiss.edu
Morgan Littich malittic@go.olemiss.edu Student , Nutrition & Dietetics
Mustafa Altinakar altinakar@ncche.olemiss.edu Director and Research Professor

National Center for Computational Hydroscience and Engineering

Naeemul Hassan nhassan@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor

Computer and Information Science

Nick Dugan nsdugan@go.olemiss.edu Student, Nutrition
Nika Arkhipova arkhipovaveronika@gmail.com Student, Nutrition & Dietetics
Niloofar Abolhasani Khaje nabolhas@go.olemiss.edu BioMolecular Sciences, Pharmacology
Nuttita Pophet npophet@go.olemiss.edu Research Assistant, NCCHE
Oscar Black obblack@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Paige Smith plsmith3@go.olemiss.edu
Peyton Dixon pwdixon@go.olemiss.edu Student

Nutrition and Hospitality Management

Prachi Gala pbgala@olemiss.edu Graduate Student

Business Administration

Rachel Haggard rhaggard@go.olemiss.edu Research Assistant

Sociology and Anthropology

Rachel Johnson rejohns3@olemiss.edu Regional Campus Writing Center Director

Writing and Rhetoric

Rachel Roberts rroberts2@umc.edu Anesthesiology Resident, CA-3/PGY-4

Anesthesiology

Raymond J. Grill, Ph.D. rgrill@umc.edu Associate Professor

Neurobiology and Anatomical Sciences

Rebecca Butler rbutler@umc.edu Coordinator of Instructional Development

SHRP, Dean’s Office

Rebecca Nance rsnance@olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Rebekah E. Smith rebekah@olemiss.edu Professor and Chair

Department of Psychology

Richard Summers rsummers@umc.edu Assoc. VC for Research
Rob Rockhold rrockhold@umc.edu Professor and Deputy Chief Academic Officer
Robert Doerksen rjd@olemiss.edu Associate Professor

BioMolecular Sciences

Robert Jacob Winkler rjwinkle@go.olemiss.edu
Robert Magee rgmagee@olemiss.edu Asst. Prof. of Integrated Marketing Comm

Meek School of Journalism and New Media

Rongbing Yang ryang2@olemiss.edu Postdoctoral Researcher

Department of Pharmaceutics and Drug Delivery

Ross Black krblack@go.olemiss.edu
Roy Duhe rduhe@olemiss.edu Professor
Roy J. Thurston rthursto@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor

Teacher Education

Ryan Gill brgill@go.olemiss.edu
Saloumeh Kolahchyan skolahch@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Samantha Davila sdavila@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Samir Ross, sross@olemiss.edu Research Professor
Sandeep Misra skmisra@olemiss.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate

Biomolecular Sciences

Sarah Johnson snjohns4@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Sarah Krueger skrueger@olemiss.edu
Savannah L. Kelly slkelly@olemiss.edu Research & Instruction Librarian

University Libraries

Selby Entrekin srentrek@go.olemiss.edu
Shelby Bobinger shelby.bobinger@outlook.com Nursing
Sophie Abikhaled smabikha@go.olemiss.edu
Soumyajit Majumdar majumso@olemiss.edu Associate Dean and Professor

Pharmaceutics and Drug Delivery, School of Pharmacy

Stephanie Otts sshowalt@olemiss.edu Director, National Sea Grant Law Center

School of Law

Stephen Smith scsmit11@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Suofei Lu slu2@go.olemiss.edu
Svjetlana Curcic scurcic@olemiss.edu Associate Professor

Teacher Education Department

Sydney Antolini santolin@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
Sydney Bush Sbbush@gmail.com Research Assistant

UM Center for Population Studies

Sydney Vita svita@umc.edu Graduate Student

Neurobiology and Anatomical Sciences

Tadesse Sinshaw tasinsha@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student
TaKeva Cowan tlcowan@go.olemiss.edu Student, Dietetics & Nutrition
Taylor Ramsaroop tnramsar@go.olemiss.edu Biochemistry
Teresa Carithers carither@olemiss.edu Associate Dean and Interim Chair of CSD

School of Applied Sciences

Terrence Hibbert thibbert@umc.edu Director of Information Systems

Information Systems

Terry Pollard tpollard@umc.edu Director of Instructional Development

Deans Office, SHRP

Thomas Ellington tlelling@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Thuy M Nguyen tmnguye1@go.olemiss.edu Graduate Student, Biology
Tiara Calloway tacallow@go.olemiss.edu Undergraduate Student
Tiffany Shirley tlblacka@go.olemiss.edu Dietetics and Nutrition
Timmi Unger tcunger@go.olemiss.edu NHM
Tossi Ikuta tikuta@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor

Communication Sciences and Disorders

Tracy Brooks, tabrooks@olemiss.edu Assistant Professor
Tyler Caple tacaple@go.olemiss.edu
Vijay Ramalingam virjay@olemiss.edu Research Software Developer, NCCHE
Walt Chambliss wchambli@olemiss.edu Director of Technology Management

ORSP

Wei-Yin Chen cmchengs@olemiss.edu Professor

Chemical Engineering

Whitney Black wcblack0525@gmail.com
Whitney Bondurant wbondurant@umc.edu Director, Sponsored Programs

Office of Sponsored Programs, Pre-Award Division, UMMC

Winston Pitts wcpitts@go.olemiss.edu Research Assistant

Department of Chemistry

Wu Zhou wzhou@umc.edu Professor
Yacoub Najjar ymnajjar@olemiss.edu Professor and Chair
Yafei Jia jia@ncche.olemiss.edu Research Professor, NCCHE
Yaoxin Zhang yzhang@ncche.olemiss.edu Senior Research Scientist, NCCHE
Yavuz Ozeren yozeren@olemiss.edu Research Scientist, NCCHE
Yu-Dong Zhou ydzhou@olemiss.edu Visiting Associate Professor,

Chemistry and Biochemistry